,

What You Need To Know About Permitless Carry In Florida That Went Into Effect Today

Florida has joined over two dozen other states today with the implementation of Permitless Concealed Carry, that went into effect at midnight. There are, however, some rules that have been a thing for years, and need to be followed to carry a concealed firearm legally.

Places Off-Limits For Concealed Carry

  • Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05 (an open term that includes places that endanger the health of the community, become “manifestly injurious to the morals or manners” of the community, or “annoy the community” such as prostitution dens, illegal gambling halls, specified massage parlors and anywhere criminal gang activity happens)
  • Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
  • Any detention facility, prison, or jail
  • Any courthouse
  • Any courtroom (although judges can carry concealed weapons or determine if someone else can)
  • Any polling place
  • Any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district
  • Any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof
  • Any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms
  • Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building
  • Any career center
  • Anywhere in an establishment primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
  • Any college or university facility unless the licensee is a registered student, employee, or faculty member there and the weapon is a stun gun or nonlethal electric weapon or device designed solely for defensive purposes and doesn’t fire a dart or projectile
  • The inside of the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport, unless it’s encased for shipment to be checked as baggage
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law

What Is The Legal Age To Carry A Concealed Firearm In Florida?

The age requirement is 21-years-old, and must hold a valid form of identification. You must also be a legal resident of the United States. The age requirement of 21-years-old, however, does not apply to servicemembers or veterans.

Who Is Prohibited From Carrying A Concealed Firearm In Florida?

Anyone who is convicted of a felony cannot carry a firearm. Further, as stated above, anyone under the age of 21 cannot carry a firearm. Anyone who is not a legal resident of the United States cannot carry a firearm.

Do I Have To Be A Florida Resident To Carry A Concealed Firearm?

No. Non-residents are allowed to carry a concealed firearm if the following criteria are met: They are 21 or older, and not prohibited by Florida law to possess them for any other reason. The age requirement of 21-years-old does not apply to servicemembers or veterans.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments