Virginia Looks To Expand Reciprocity With ANY State That Issues Concealed Carry Permits
Now, House Bill 1163 looks to expand that reciprocity even further, and would allow anyone with an out-of-state concealed carry permit to carry in the state of Virginia.
Recognition of out-of-state concealed handgun permits. Provides that a holder of a concealed handgun permit issued by any state who is at least 21 years of age is authorized to carry a concealed handgun in Virginia. The bill requires the Attorney General to enter into agreements for reciprocal recognition with other states that require an agreement to be in place before the state will recognize a Virginia concealed handgun permit as valid in the state. Current law recognizes concealed handgun permits issued by states that (i) provide a 24-hour-a-day means of verification of the validity of the permits issued in that state and (ii) have requirements and qualifications that are adequate to prevent possession of a permit by persons who would be denied a permit in Virginia.
The bill passed the House by a vote of 72-26 on Wednesday, and has headed to the Senate for further consideration.
Additionally, the legislation would prevent a person who has had a Virginia permit revoked from having an out-of-state permit recognized in Virginia.
For full text of the bill, click here.