Major Changes Possible For Maryland’s Concealed Carry Law


ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND — Maryland’s concealed carry law is undergoing significant revisions as the State Senate recently amended the Gun Safety Act, making it less restrictive.

The bill’s sponsor believes the changes make it more constitutionally sound, and while Second Amendment advocates generally agree, they will likely push for additional changes in the House, according to WBAL-TV.

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Vice-Chair Jeff Waldstreicher, D-District 18, said the original bill was posssibly “written too broadly” and challenging to defend on constitutional grounds.

The revised bill is narrower and stronger, addressing these concerns.

Key changes include the removal of the 100-feet restriction from public spaces for carrying firearms, which was a comically bad idea from its inception.

Restricted areas are now limited to schools, health facilities, polling places, live theaters, stadiums, concert venues, and government buildings, according to WBAL-TV.

The legislation exempts law enforcement officers, retired police in good standing, and military personnel.

However, Second Amendment advocates, like Mark Pennak, argue that the restrictions on restaurants with liquor licenses are unfair.

Waldstreicher defends the decision, stating that guns and alcohol don’t mix, which is obviously and utterly not the point.

In addition, the legislation prohibits bringing firearms onto private property without permission.

The House is currently considering measures to increase concealed carry permit requirements and double the fees for obtaining or renewing a permit.

Senate President Bill Ferguson, made it clear — he doesn’t like concealed carry and said the new legislation aims to create a society where people don’t need guns to feel safe.

“At the end of the day, this bill is about less guns,” he said according to WBAL-TV.

Let’s set aside that It really should be “fewer,” not “less.” Ferguson is clearly and overtly communicating that he thinks guns are bad, and his actions sure seem to indicate he doesn’t care about respecting a core aspect of the United States Constitution.

Penalties for first-time offenders include 90 days in jail and a $3,000 fine, while subsequent offenses carry a 15-month prison sentence and $7,500 fine, according to WBAL-TV.


Concealed Nation

Sign up for all the latest news, updates,
and exclusive deals...

We respect your email privacy

About the Author

Josiah is a veteran writer and active voice in the gun community. He is passionate about not only ensuring that American citizens know their rights, but why they have those rights and what a gift it is to be in a country that acknowledges their God-given freedoms. His standard concealed carry rig is a Tristar T-100 in 9mm settled comfortably in a Quick Click and Carry Holster made by JM4 Tactical.

Click for more:

Leave a comment