More And More States Recognizing Illinois Concealed Carry Permits; Now 22


So far, 22 states recognize concealed carry permits issued by Illinois. The last state in the country to allow concealed carry, over 70,000 permits have been issued since the laws went into effect earlier this year.

The reason that states have been quick to recognize the Illinois permits is most likely because of their strict requirements, which includes a 16-hour safety course. It’s also important to note that Illinois itself does not currently recognize any other state’s permits, and that day may never come.

Illinois permits are $150 for residents and covers them for 5 years. Non-residents may also apply at the rate of $300.

The states that currently accept the permit are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

To apply for your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit or to see if you are eligible, visit this link.

Receive the latest news right to your inbox!

About the Author

Brandon is the founder of Concealed Nation and is an avid firearm enthusiast, with a particular interest in responsible concealed carry. His EDC is a Springfield Armory Hellcat OSP, with a Shield Sights RMSC Red Dot, that holds Hornady 165 gr FTX Critical Defense rounds, and rides comfortably in a Vedder Holsters ComfortTuck IWB holster.

Vedder Holsters
Vedder Holsters

Click for more:

Leave a comment