Photo Courtesy noaa.gov
With Hurricane Dorian a severe threat to parts of Florida, mandatory evacuations could be popping up in the very near future. Back in 2015, the Governor signed a bill into law that allows for permitless carry under certain circumstances.
The bill allows for a 48-hour window of permitless carry, and will come in handy for many of those affected by this storm.
SB 290 — Carrying a Concealed Weapon or a Concealed Firearm – This bill allows a concealed weapon or firearm to be carried for 48 hours during a mandatory evacuation order declared during a state of emergency.
The bill (SB 290), which the Florida House approved by a 86-26 vote back in April of 2015, was drafted as a response to Hurricane Katrina when many gun owners faced charges after they took their firearms with them when fleeing their homes.












![[VIDEO] Man Backed Up Into Car By Aggressor, Aggressor Knocked Out During Ensuing Fight](https://imagedelivery.net/sbm_lYeJbALkepJgtmRD5w/concealednation.org/2020/10/ScreenHunter-147.jpg/w=728,h=381)
![[VIDEO] Criminal Doesn’t Make It After Trying To Rob Off-Duty Policewoman](https://imagedelivery.net/sbm_lYeJbALkepJgtmRD5w/concealednation.org/2019/03/ScreenHunter_2131-Mar.-26-15.41.jpg/w=728,h=381)
