Steve montenegro concealed carry income tax credit arizona concealed carry license

Lawmaker Wants State To Pay For Concealed Carry Training


PHOENIX, ARIZONA — If you want alert, responsible gun carriers, the best way to get there is through good, judicious training.  That’s what the Arizona legislature is arguing at present with the introduction of a bill that would have the State of Arizona pay for concealed carry training for its residents.

House Majority Leader Steve Montenegro, R-Litchfield Park, promised a dollar-for-dollar income tax credit for those who go out and pursue concealed carry training — limited to $80.  Arizona is, in practice, a constitutional carry state for residents but concealed carriers wishing to travel outside the state and enjoy some degree of reciprocity have to pursue a concealed carry permit through the Arizona Department of Public Safety.  If an Arizona resident pursues that path, he or she will inevitably need to complete some form of training pursuant to Arizona law.  If such a bill passes, it would mean the cost of doing that would be greatly reduced come tax return season.

And the reason, according to Rep. Montenegro, is simple: safety.

via AZ Daily Sun


“It’s promoting safety,” he said of HB 2494. “Law enforcement has told us time and time again that the first line of defense are those that carry CCW permits.”

It’s a progressive step forward in bringing the average gun-carrying, law-abiding citizen into the fold for first response to violent emergencies.  The main focuses of most concealed carry training courses, Montenegro concedes, are on educating the definitions of lawful authorized use of deadly force and the safe handling of a concealed carry handgun.  That’s not the sort of training that will bring you from zero to hero but it will help you stay safe and develop the basic skill sets that every proficient concealed carrier calls upon.

Critics cite the loss of Arizona income state tax revenue, an estimated potential of $240 million according to the AZ Daily Sun.  Montenegro, however, says that there can be no cost on safety.  And, in this case, it seems like he’s going the right way about it — incentivize safety and learning for concealed carriers without robbing state coffers.  A loss of $80 per eligible concealed carrier is more than worth it should any of them ever be called upon to act against bad guys.

Categories: General, News, Politics
About James England | View all posts by James England

James England is a Marine Corps veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom and has served as a defense contractor in Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. His daily concealed carry…

James England is a Marine Corps veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom and has served as a defense contractor in Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom. His daily concealed carry handgun is a Glock 36 in a Lenwood Holsters Specter IWB or his CZ-75D PCR in an Alien Gear MOD holster.

Posts – Below Author – Small Square 1 (150×150)Advertisement
Posts – Below Author – Small Square 2 (150×150)Advertisement
Posts – Below Author – Small Square 3 (150×150)Advertisement
Posts – Below Author – Small Square 4 (150×150)Advertisement
  • Del Bancroft

    For those bring up the fact that it would be funded by tax payers money. How much in tax did they pay when they purchased the handgun and ammo…i dont know AZ tax rate. But basically isnt it just using their money for their training

    • Jon

      all this really does is reimburse you for the $72 fee paid to DPS for the actual CCW processing. so yes, quite a lot of it is already covered by fees paid by the CCW applicant and only by them.

  • Dan Weymouth

    Seems like a good idea up front. lets see. $85.00 for the class. (at least in my state. county) another $35.00 processing fee at the sheriffs. $130.00 to the state attorney general for the privilege. $25.00 for a passport picture. And another $26.00 at DMV to actually get my permit done. Ya the costs add up. So if they are proposing to pay for the class. Well that’s a good start. Just don’t forget all the other wonderful fees you are paying along the way. Kind of annoying tho. Try to do things the legal and correct way. And you rack up some costs paying for it. Im guessing about $300.00 all told. give or take. Im sure this will vary a lot from state to state. But at least in Kansas you are definantly paying for the privilege.