TN Governor Signs Lifetime Concealed Carry Permits Into Law
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE — The Governor of Tennessee, Bill Haslam, signed legislation this week that allows residents of Tennessee to receive a permit to carry a firearm that does not expire.
The House passed the measure 90-3, and the Senate approved it 30-2. Before this legislation, permits expired every 4 years.
Because of the new legislation, residents 21 years old and older can get a lifetime permit for $500. A background check will be done every 5 years. The state Safety Department can revoke or suspend a permit at anytime they feel the permit holder no longer meets the requirements.