The Number Of Magazines Handed Over To Police After NJ Ban Is…
Last week, a new law came into reality in the State of New Jersey that would make it illegal to possess any firearm magazines that are capable of holding more than 10 rounds.
The owners who do not comply can face up to 18 months in prison and up to a $10,000 fine per magazine.
It is estimated that over 1 million New Jersey residents currently have these so-called ‘high-capacity magazines’.
A week later, it seems that no one has handed in any magazines.
But how does the state plan to enforce the ban? We have no idea, and neither do they.
AmmoLand’s sources within the New Jersey State Police that spoke on a condition of anonymity stated that they had not received any guidance on how to enforce the ban from the AG’s office. They said that there is currently no plan to investigate gun owners suspected of having the now banned magazines.
According to the source, the plan that has been discussed among officers is only to file charges against people who are guilty of other crimes. This plan might change once superiors give guidance on how to enforce the ban.Via AmmoLand.com
The state’s gun owners seem to be holding strong against a law they feel to be unconstitutional.