More And More States Recognizing Illinois Concealed Carry Permits; Now 22
So far, 22 states recognize concealed carry permits issued by Illinois. The last state in the country to allow concealed carry, over 70,000 permits have been issued since the laws went into effect earlier this year.
The reason that states have been quick to recognize the Illinois permits is most likely because of their strict requirements, which includes a 16-hour safety course. It’s also important to note that Illinois itself does not currently recognize any other state’s permits, and that day may never come.
Illinois permits are $150 for residents and covers them for 5 years. Non-residents may also apply at the rate of $300.
The states that currently accept the permit are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin.
To apply for your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit or to see if you are eligible, visit this link.